Over 60 countries commit to COVAX initiative; Brazil not among them

covax brazil

The World Health Organization has released a list of 64 countries — representing nearly two-thirds of the global population — which have committed to the COVAX Facility, a worldwide initiative that brings together governments and manufacturers to ensure future Covid-19 vaccines reach those in greatest need, whoever they are and wherever they live. These 64 members of the Facility will be joined by 92 low- and middle-income economies eligible for support for the procurement of vaccines.

Brazil, however, has only signed a non-binding confirmation of intent to participate in the COVAX Facility, and asked for more time to evaluate whether or not to help finance the initiative. So far, South America is represented by Argentina, Colombia, Paraguay, Peru, and Suriname.

Meanwhile, three major Latin American nations (Brazil, Mexico, and Chile) have yet to fully commit.

The Brazilian government said it needs more information on COVAX Facility’s regulatory framework and logistics plans. “Those definitions are particularly important to a continental country such as Brazil,” said the administration’s press secretary.

Support this coverage →Support this coverage →