Guide to Brazil

Presidential history of Brazil

brazil presidential history

Since overthrowing the Imperial Family in 1889, Brazil has had a total of 40 heads of state, six republics, two dictatorships, and eight constitutions. Only 60 percent of elected leaders of the country completed their terms, with seven presidents being ousted or impeached, five resigning, and four dying in office. This term completion rate is even worse in Brazil’s recent return to democracy — since Tancredo Neves died after the 1988 elections, only two elected presidents have completed their full terms. Here at The Brazilian Report, we have profiled each one of Brazil’s heads of state, from Deodoro...

Access all of The Brazilian Report

Less expensive than a coffee!

Enjoy your 30-day limited-time offer for US$ 0.25 a week